Adventure Forums

Adventure Forums (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/)
-   Adventure (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/adventure/)
-   -   The Dig (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/adventure/23067-dig.html)

colpet 08-11-2008 06:23 AM

The Dig

I started playing this over the weekend and am pleasantly surprised. There's lots of puzzles and the dialogue is usually kept to cut scenes. It's a game I'm looking forward to getting back to. I'm playing it on my Win95, but I've been told it plays well on newer computers with ScummV.

NZoidus 08-11-2008 06:56 AM

Oh I very much agree! I LOVE that game (despite some of the bad rep it gets), I think it's wonderful, from the puzzles to the art direction to the beautiful music by Michael Land. I even have the novel by Alan Dean Foster!
Oh, if you DO wanna play it on a newer computer I suggest using a program called VDMSound, I found it works much better on that than ScummVM. :)

Jelena 08-11-2008 07:30 AM

I also enjoyed The Dig. IIRC I played it on my XP without any trouble.

AndreaDraco83 08-11-2008 07:57 AM

The Dig is the only game by LucasArts that I really, really enjoyed, despite some too hard puzzles. It has a great storyline, a very mature one, and a very intriguing rarefied atmosphere - a must play, without any doubt.

Collector 08-11-2008 08:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NZoidus (Post 478264)
Oh, if you DO wanna play it on a newer computer I suggest using a program called VDMSound, I found it works much better on that than ScummVM.

Where would you get that idea? VDMS is a dead project. The game works great with ScummVM. If it's been a while since you tried it, there have been several new versions of ScummVM. Even so, DOSBox is a more viable solution for DOS games than VDMS.

Jadefalcon 08-11-2008 09:02 AM

I remember playing that game years ago and wish I still had it. I don't know if it would even be possible to get it working on Vista now.