You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure New adventurer seeks opinions...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2008, 12:36 PM   #1

Default New adventurer seeks opinions...

Hi,

I'm new to adventure games and I came here (great site btw) to discover some good ones that may interest me.

Being fed up by the countless FPS and action games I've played over the years I recently gave Fahrenheit/ Indigo Prophecy a try and I loved it. I understand it's not much of classic point & click adventure game but more of an interactive movie. Nevertheless I thought I might try a few other adventure games as well.

Anyway, I like games with great stories and actions/puzzles that make sense in the context of the story. So, I guess that's a priority for me. With that in mind I searched the reviews from 2004 until now and picked most 4/4 and a half-star games that seemed to fit the themes I like (generally mature/serious games. No cartoony stuff).

I would greatly appreciate your individual opinions on these games. Additional recommendations are also welcome as long as the games are not pre-2004, or at least not too ugly (what can I say, I got spoiled by pretty graphics :p).

Here's my list:
-Sherlock Holmes versus Arsene Lupin
-Overclocked: A History of Violence
-The Secrets of Da Vinci: The Forbidden Manuscript
-Scratches
-Dreamfall: The Longest Journey
-The Moment of Silence
-Still Life
-Return to the mysterious island
-Syberia 2
-Dracula: Origin (I put this one here mostly because I like vampire stories as well)
-Barrow Hill
What I also want to know is how lenghty (or short) these games are on average. I don't like paying full price for a game I will finish the same day.

Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post.

EDIT: Added Barrow Hill

Last edited by foxhound71; 08-07-2008 at 06:03 AM.
Old 08-06-2008, 01:21 PM   #2