You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure The Longest Journey - the greatest adventure game series

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2008, 01:41 AM   #1
Physicist

Default The Longest Journey - the greatest adventure game series

The Longest Journey and Dreamfall are the greatest adventure games ever created.

I've been playing adventure games for the past 15 years of my life, and although that alone doesn't qualify me as an expert (although I have played through 85 titles), I will stick by the above statement, and defend it with all my might!

The games are a result of incredible imagination; imagination that doesn't blow out of proportion; imagination that is well contained yet it basks in creativeness and artistic freedom.

Both games are polished with superb characterization that is further backed by incredibly smooth voice acting. The graphics are unique and enlightening, the music score is interweaved with the game just like time is with space, and the technical capabilities that bring the game to life are as good as any other big commercial game out there.

If I have any criticism, it is the interface in Dreamfall; however the greatness of the games lie in the fact that any shortcomings are covered by immersion.

In short, the games bring about a unique story, story that has never been touched in past adventure games; both games immerse real-world themes into their endless universe; and both game take a grip until the very end, when they finally let you go and smile gently.

I look forward to the continuation of the series, and will gladly spend my money.
Old 05-04-2008, 03:06 AM   #2
Irritant F0rum Beasty

They're quite good, I suppose.

The Seed accepts no responsibility for any damage that my have been caused to your Hard Drive as a result of viewing this post!
Old 05-04-2008, 06:58 PM   #3
fire breathing