You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Question for Myst series vets?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2006, 04:58 PM   #1

Default Question for Myst series vets?

Hi
I'm not very experienced playing adventure game....my question is I can get the 10th anniversary edition on amazon for 19.95..Inclused Myst,Riven, Exile..

Can these games be completed without resorting to hints?..If not i'll take any reccomendations.
Tom
Old 12-01-2006, 06:43 PM   #2
Adventure Lover

Send a message via AIM to Boneho Chane

Unless you have lots and lots of time on your hands, I'm going to say no. I found the only way to get through Riven at times was using hints, and I was perfectly fine with that. It was still was a great game. However, I can't think of any first person adventure games that won't have you running for hints. I would say go with that box set anyway. The Myst games are fun just for the experience.
Old 12-01-2006, 07:25 PM   #3

I could be the only person...but I pretty much had to resort to hints for almost every single puzzle in the first Myst when it first came out (which made it pretty un-fun). But then again I had very little time to play it and am just terrible with puzzles in first-person adventures in general.
Old 12-01-2006, 08:13 PM   #4

I actually completed the entire series without resorting to a single hint.

Now that I have, I would DEFINITELY recommend that people use hints without remorse. It took me far too much time to complete games like Riven and Uru.

Timbo
Old 12-01-2006, 11:56 PM   #5
tsa
Playing character