You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Mechanical mish-mash

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2006, 06:36 AM   #1
Magic Wand Waver

Send a message via MSN to Fairygdmther
Default Mechanical mish-mash

Have you ever noticed how, in adv games, with all the old (sometimes very old) devices that we need to get to work, that all we ever do is supply some missing part, and shazam! it works again!

Don't they ever clean off the rust, and oil the workings? Now I'm no mechanic - I'm a nurse, but, damn - even in a cave, with possible slime all over things, they never need to clean it up or replace a gasket, or put in an oil filter, or any of those mundane things that would make them more realistic.

Now I know it's a game, and doesn't have to be totally realistic, but really...

Look at Syberia, with all those mechanical devices, and the only time Kate had to use oil was on Oscar, who rusted up in lightning quick time.

Lynsie
Old 06-22-2006, 06:54 AM   #2
Bad Influence

Send a message via Yahoo to Sage

Excellent point, FGM!
Would it be that big a deal to have a functional oil can as an inventory item? And furthermore to require that a given machine be oiled at a certain number of locations before it is operable?
Since many mechanical devices in adventure games appear to have remained abandoned and unused for long periods of time, the requirement of a little lubrication seems only logical.
Another suggestion might be that one be required to replace dry-rotted rubber components such as hoses or belts. This certainly happens in the real world, and having to do so in an adventure game would add verisimilitude.

Share the love.

<3
Old 06-22-2006, 07:08 AM   #3
Magic Wand Waver

Thanks, Scott, I always like to have my opinion backed by competent authority.