You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Has this type of adventure game been tried?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2006, 10:15 AM   #1

Default Has this type of adventure game been tried?

I'm a student at CMU's Entertainment Technology Center, and a group of us are serious about making a novel type of adventure game.

It's the sort of thing that lots of people have talked about, but I don't know if anyone has ever tried. One of our faculty members suggested that we post on an adventure gaming forum, and see if anyone knows of any such games. If such a game exists, we want to play it and analyze what went right and what went wrong, and how we can attempt to solve the problems that the last attempt faced.

This is a basic outline of what we want to do:

A 10-minute interactive story-game where the protagonist's background, the history of the world, and his relation to the world are all defined by the player's actions throughout the experience. In most games, you either create a character through a set of drop-down menus or have it predefined. We would like to give the player the opportunity to define not only their character, but the world, history, and place around them via gameplay choices, like conversation, action, and personal thoughts. By allowing the player to define the story, we hope to empower them as both a game-player and as a storyteller. As they play the game, their actions define certain constraints for the story to prevent narrative inconsistencies while still allowing a robust set of choices and interactions. The player will then be able to take a story that they created and share it with other people, to see where they may take it, or to just relive another person's experience.