View Single Post
Old 05-05-2012, 09:21 AM   #1
diego

Default Let's Play The Black Mirror

Let's Play "The Black Mirror"

Part 1: "I've Seen That Manor Before"

And now i remember - I've seen it in The Black Mirror 2. Hello and welcome! This is my first time of playing The Black Mirror, and i will try to update here as i progress, discuss the game and hopefully get help from those of you who had played it if i get stuck. I hesitated to play it after the second one, but decided to give it a go. It's also my first time of doing this kind of a "game diary", so please bear with me.

After the nice "cabaret"-sque music in the main menu, it starts with the mysterious intro, which leaves us guessing and leading us to the main protagonist coming back to the manor. I have a soft spot for heroes returning home after a long time. Like Sean Penn aka Terry Noonan in State of Grace

or Sir Henry in "The Hound of the Baskervilles"

Samuel has been absent for 12 years (come to think of it, that's exactly around the same time i hadn't visited my countryside cottage) and returns for grandfather's funeral. Funny, but at first i just couldn't seem to acknowledge William was his grandfather, even after watching the intro for a couple of times. I assumed Samuel was his nephew - after all - it's always Uncles with a big manors sending for their nephews. And so, we begin:

At this point, i had no idea who is who. Something's definitely not quite right about Sir William's death, and after the talk - Samuel begins to investigate around the manor.

As i stepped outside, there's a huge "Phantasmagoria" vibe:

like those "creepy" trees

or the gate

I tried to go even further

but Samuel wouldn't let me, asking for a map. Will this makeshift map do?:

I guess not. And tell what you will of my art skills, but it helped me to get a grip of the surroundings.